Penalties and Consequences

Driver's License Consequences

The DOT only looks at prior drunk driving license suspensions within the past 12 years to determine if the current charge is a 1st, 2nd or subsequent offense.  Zero tolerance  (.02) offenses count!

First Offense

Failure Refusal
Suspension Period 6 Months 1 Year
Ignition Interlock Always Always
CDL 1 year (per DOT) Always

Second or Subsequent Offense

Failure Refusal
Suspension Period 1 Year 2 Years
Ignition Interlock Always Always
CDL Lifetime Lifetime

Under Iowa laws, any person found to have been operating a motor vehicle while intoxicated by failing a sobriety test or refusing to submit to a sobriety test must complete a mandatory drinking and driving course.

Criminal Consequences If Convicted

Requires actual criminal conviction for operating while intoxicated.

First Offense

Failure Refusal
Mandatory Min. Jail Time
  • 2 days if under .15 and no PI accident
  • possibly no jail
  • deferred judgement

2 days

not eligible for deferred

Mandatory Min. Jail Fine

$1250 plus 35% surcharge

$1250 plus 35% surcharge
Ignition Interlock Always Always
CDL Lifetime Lifetime

 Second Offense

Failure Refusal
Mandatory Min. Jail Time 7 days 7 days
Mandatory Min. Jail Fine $1850 plus 35% surcharge $1850 plus 35% surcharge
Other If convicted, may not register a vehicle In your name


Third Offense

Failure Refusal
Mandatory Min. Jail Time 30 days 30 days
Mandatory Min. Jail Fine $3125 plus 35% surcharge $3125 plus 35% surcharge
Other

FELONY!

  • If convicted, may not register a vehicle
    in your name
  • Conviction requires 6 year court imposed driver's license barrment
  • No benefit to consenting to test unless absolutely certain will blow under .08

Have you been arrested or currently under investigation?

Contact Us

FREE Consultation

Local: 515-226-0500
Toll Free: 1-877-GRL-LAWS


Is DUI a Criminal Charge?

In Iowa it's called Operating while Intoxicated, or OWI. Most people refer to them as DUI. But we have the most severe mandatory minimum penalties that go along with a DUI that are higher and more severe than any other misdemeanor offense a person can be charged with in the state of Iowa.