How long do you go to jail for a DUI?

posted by Matthew Lindholm on Friday, June 09, 2017

How long do you go to jail for a DUI? We have to remember that OWIs, DUIs, and State of Violence don't have just jail time, there's also fines that go along with them. The amount of jail time and the fines are tied to the level of offense that the person is facing. Whether that's a first offense, second offense, or third, or subsequent offense. In the breakdown on those penalties is, for a first offense, the punishment can include up to one year in jail with a mandatory minimum of two days in jail. And the fine is set at $1250.

With respect to OWIs, the fines and jail times are the highest of any misdemeanor offenses in the state of Iowa. On the third offense felony, there is a minimum 30 days in jail. Many felonies in Iowa do not have mandatory jail time or mandatory prison time but OWI third offenses do. These penalties are high, the consequences are high. That's why it's important to get an attorney to help navigate through these very difficult and troublesome areas of the law.
  1. driving under the influence
  2. drunk driving defense
  3. dui defense
  4. dui lawyer
  5. operating while intoxicated
  6. owi

About The Author

Mr. Lindholm has been named to the Top 40 Under 40 and selected to the Super Lawyers list for the third straight year in 2015.  He has also repeatedly been named Avvo's Client Choice and Top Attorney for DUI defense with a Superb rating of 10.0 out of a pos ... read more